New Zealand · residence by investment (golden visa)
New Zealand Active Investor Plus visa (residence not citizenship)
Active as of 14 October 2026
Resident visa, not citizenship. From 1 April 2025 the minimum fell from NZD 15 million (or weighted equivalent) to NZD 5 million in the Growth category and NZD 10 million in the Balanced category.
Investment routes
| Route | Minimum | Holding period | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| business/enterprise1 | NZD 5,000,000 | 3 years | Growth category. Higher risk investments including managed funds and direct investment in New Zealand businesses. |
| other1 | NZD 10,000,000 | 5 years | Balanced category. Mixed investments with lower risk options, including bonds and property type investments. |
Rules
Due diligence
Not stated in the sources read.
Residence requirement
Immigration New Zealand says the time required in New Zealand was reduced for more active investments and the English language requirement was removed. The number of days was not stated in the source read.
Programme history
- Immigration New Zealand reported 985 applications covering 3,206 people since 1 April 2025, with 511 approved and NZD 2.98 billion committed.1
- Changes took effect creating the Growth and Balanced categories and removing the English language requirement.1
Official programme site: www.immigration.govt.nz/new-zealand-visas/visas/visa/active-investor-plus-visa
Sources
- Immigration New Zealand, 2025 changes to the Active Investor Plus Visa and statistics post change (14 October 2026) · official
Figures are the minimums and fees stated by the programme or its regulations on the date shown. Agents' fees and other costs are extra. This is not investment or immigration advice.