Golden Passport Record

United States · residence by investment (golden visa)

United States EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program and Gold Card (permanent residence, not citizenship)

Active as of 10 December 2025

Permanent residence routes, not citizenship. Executive Order 14351 created a Gold Card visa programme for a gift of USD 1 million from an individual or USD 2 million from a corporation, and the trumpcard.gov site launched on 10 December 2025, as reported by Roll Call. On 23 April 2026 Commerce Secretary Howard Lutnick said one Gold Card had been approved, as reported by AFP and The Fiscal Times. A challenge to the programme filed in federal court in Washington on 3 February 2026 had no ruling on the motion to dismiss in the docket summary dated 27 October 2026.

Lowest stated minimumUSD 800,000business/enterprise
Processing timeNot stated in the sources read.
Data checked28 October 2026

Investment routes

RouteMinimumHolding periodNotes
business/enterprise5,6,2USD 1,050,000EB-5 standard minimum set by 8 U.S.C. 1153(b)(5)(C)(i) as amended by the EB-5 Reform and Integrity Act of 2022. The statute provides for an adjustment beginning on 1 January 2027 and every 5 years after. The investment must create or preserve 10 permanent full time jobs for qualified US workers.
business/enterprise5,6,2USD 800,000EB-5 reduced minimum for a targeted employment area or an infrastructure project under 8 U.S.C. 1153(b)(5)(C)(ii). It adjusts to 75 percent of the standard amount when that amount adjusts. Same job creation rule.
donation/fund1USD 1,000,000Gold Card gift by an individual on their own behalf. Executive Order 14351 directs that the gift be treated as evidence of eligibility in the EB-1 and EB-2 categories, including for a national interest waiver.
donation/fund1USD 2,000,000Gold Card gift by a corporation or similar entity on behalf of an individual.

Government and due diligence fees

FeeApplies toAmount
DHS processing fee (Gold Card)4,7individual and corporate Gold Card applicants, as reported by Roll Call and The Washington TimesUSD 15,000

Rules

Legal basis

Immigration and Nationality Act section 203(b)(5) (8 U.S.C. 1153(b)(5)) as amended by the EB-5 Reform and Integrity Act of 2022 (part of Public Law 117-103) for EB-5. Executive Order 14351 of 19 September 2025 for the Gold Card.

Due diligence

Not stated in the sources read.

Residence requirement

Not stated in the sources read.

Programme history

Official programme site: www.uscis.gov/working-in-the-united-states/permanent-workers/eb-5-immigrant-investor-program

Sources

  1. The White House, The Gold Card (Executive Order 14351) (19 September 2025) · official
  2. US Citizenship and Immigration Services, EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program · official
  3. Womble Bond Dickinson, Congress reauthorizes EB-5 Regional Center Program (14 March 2022)
  4. Roll Call, Trump administration launches Gold Card visa website (10 December 2025)
  5. Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School (text of the US Code), 8 U.S. Code 1153, Allocation of immigrant visas (subsection (b)(5)(C)) · official
  6. Congressional Research Service, Legislative Changes to the EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program (IN11989) (26 July 2023) · official
  7. The Washington Times, Lawsuit challenges Trump's gold card visa for wealthy foreigners (3 February 2026)
  8. Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse, American Association of University Professors v. Department of Homeland Security, No. 1:26-cv-00300 (D.D.C.) (27 October 2026)
  9. CTV News, Trump gold card visa granted to one person so far, US commerce chief (AFP) (23 April 2026)
  10. The Fiscal Times, Just 1 Trump Gold Card has been approved so far, Lutnick says (23 April 2026)

Figures are the minimums and fees stated by the programme or its regulations on the date shown. Agents' fees and other costs are extra. This is not investment or immigration advice.